News & reviews


2013 Chairman’s Sports Awards

The Chairman of Bath & North East Somerset Council, Councillor Rob Appleyard launched the Chairman’s Sport Awards 2013 on 17 October 2012 alongside representatives from Aquaterra Leisure and O2 Creation, the official supporters for the awards.

Individuals, sports clubs, schools, colleges and community groups are invited to make nominations for the Chairman’s Sport Awards 2013 in the following categories:

  • Young Volunteer in Sport
  • Volunteer in Sport
  • Young Achiever in Sport (12-18 years)
  • Achiever in Sport (with a disability)
  • Contribution to Inclusive Sport (club/individual) – NEW!
  • Sports Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year – NEW!
  • Sports Club of the Year
  • PE and Sport Teacher of the Year
  • Aquaterra Healthy Lifestyles Award
  • Chairman’s Special Award.

New categories for this post-Olympic year include 'Contribution to Inclusive Sport' in recognition of an individual or club/organisation that has made a significant contribution to inclusive sport; and 'Official of the Year' in recognition of an official (referee or umpire) who has shown a great level of dedication and commitment to ensuring high standards and professionalism.

The Chairman’s Special Award, recognising Achievement in the Community, will be selected from all the nominations received and will best reflect the Chairman’s theme of ‘People Matter’.

All award nominees will be invited to a civic reception and presentation on Wednesday 27 February 2013, which will include displays from local sports clubs.

All finalists will receive a certificate and photograph, while the winner in each category will be presented with a piece of engraved, Aqua Blue Glass and offered 12 months free Platinum membership to Aquaterra-run facilities.

Anyone wishing to find out more about the awards and make a nomination can visit 

Alternatively, call Bath & North East Somerset Council’s Sport and Active Lifestyles Team on 01225 396429 or email

The deadline for nominations is 12noon on Friday 25 Jan 2013.